Welcome to Needham SEPAC

We are parents and guardians of special education students who provide information and support to each other.

We meet regularly with school administrators to give input about the policies and programs that affect our children.


"Understanding Dyslexia and Supporting Struggling Readers"

Please join us for a presentation by Dr. Alissa Talamo, a neuropsychologist from NESCA, who will address dyslexia-related topics including:
  • How to identify a student with dyslexia
  • Best practices in supporting the acquisition of reading skills
  • How changing MA laws will help identify struggling readers
Alissa Talamo, Ph.D. specializes in working with children and adolescents with language-based learning disabilities including dyslexia, attentional disorders, and emotional issues. With NESCA since 2007, Dr. Talamo practiced for many years as a child and adolescent clinical psychologist prior to completing postdoctoral re-training in pediatric neuropsychology.

Thursday, February 27
Broadmeadow School Media Center
7:00pm – Networking & Refreshments
7:30pm – Program Begins


All parents are encouraged to attend our monthly business meetings. During the first hour we meet with administrators to discuss topics of common interest. For the last half hour, parents remain for a guided conversation on the "topic of the month," which will help us determine agenda items for future meetings. 

Tuesday, February 11, 10:30am – 12:00pm
Emery Grover Building


Special Education Information Sessions

  • Rising 6th Graders 
    Tuesday, March 10, 6:30pm, High Rock Library

  • Rising 7th Graders
    Thursday, February 6, 6:00pm, Pollard Media Center

  • Rising 9th Graders
    Wednesday, February 5, 6:30pm, NHS Cafeteria Expansion

Tiered Focused Monitoring Review

During the week of February 10, 2020, the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education’s Office of Public School Monitoring (PSM) will conduct a Tiered Focused Monitoring Review of Needham Public Schools. The Office of Public School Monitoring visits each district and charter school every three years to monitor compliance with federal and state special education and civil rights regulations. Areas of review related to special education include student assessments, determination of eligibility, the Individualized Education Program (IEP) Team process, and IEP development and implementation. Areas of review related to civil rights include bullying, student discipline, physical restraint, and equal access to school programs for all students.

In addition to the onsite visit, parent outreach is an important part of the review process. The review chairperson from the Office of Public School Monitoring will send all parents of students with disabilities an online survey that focuses on key areas of their child’s special education program. Survey results will contribute to the development of a report. During the onsite review, the Office of Public School Monitoring will interview the chairperson(s) of the district’s Special Education Parent Advisory Council (SEPAC). Other onsite activities may include interviews of district staff and administrators, reviews of student records, and onsite observations.

Parents and other individuals may call Michelle Hennessy-Kowalchek Public School Monitoring Chairperson, at (781) 338- 3704 to request a telephone interview. If an individual requires an accommodation, such as translation, to participate in an interview, the Department will make the necessary arrangements.

Within approximately 60 business days after the onsite visit, the review chairperson will provide the (district or charter school) with a report with information about areas in which the (district or charter school) meets or exceeds regulatory requirements and areas in which the (district or charter school) requires assistance to correct or improve practices. The public will be able to access the report at ​www.doe.mass.edu/pqa/review/cpr/reports/​.

2019-20 Presentations


Copy the link(s) below and find the subscription option in your calendar application. Use this url, and it will automatically update your calendar when we add or change dates.

> Business Meetings
> Educational Meetings